Tuesday, March 31, 2015

The Circle of Life

ature is beautiful.  Nature is amazing.  Nature is cruel. 

I love the wildlife but I often don’t love their ways. 

Bon Bon Pond is home to an ever-increasing number of Bald Eagles who have developed quite a taste for muskrat.  While it’s thrilling to see the big birds around here it’s not as much fun to watch them hunt.  On Sunday a young raptor I hadn’t seen before decided to catch dinner and eat it right in front of my living room window.

Watching him consume the unfortunate little creature  was gruesome yet fascinating.  I was impressed that nothing—sans the tail and legs—went  to waste.  Nature—at its most efficient.

(please click on image to embiggen)


Monday, March 30, 2015

Thoughts for Holy Week Ahead

Sunday, March 29, 2015

California Dreamin' with Chandel

(please click on images to embiggen)

Saturday, March 28, 2015

Have a Great Weekend!

Friday, March 27, 2015


Thursday, March 26, 2015

Spring Cleaning Around the Pond

(please click on images to embiggen)

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Lumberjacking Update

The troublesome tree that toppled in front of the porch, nearly taking down the steps railing, has finally been felled.  Known in the trades as a “widow maker,” the unfortunate oak had fallen into one of its siblings.  Wedged tightly, it took some real lumberjacking skill to safely get the beast to the ground.  Many thanks to Bon Bon Pond’s best friend, Jeff, for his skill and steady hand.  Later in the season, the carcass will  be cut, split and stacked for future firewood.  Nothing goes to waste in the country.

(please click on image to embiggen) 

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Welcoming a Brand New Season

(please click on image to embiggen) 

Monday, March 23, 2015

Thoughts for the Work Week Ahead

Sunday, March 22, 2015

Visit to Lindo Lake

(please click on images to embiggen)

Saturday, March 21, 2015

Weekend Wishes

Friday, March 20, 2015

Almost Here

Thursday, March 19, 2015

Homecoming: March 16

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

2015 Canda Geese Arrival

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

An Irish Blessing

Monday, March 16, 2015

Thoughts for the Work Week Ahead

Sunday, March 15, 2015

Sunday Blessings

Easy Like Sunday Morning with Chandel and Friends

(please click on images to embiggen)

Saturday, March 14, 2015

Birthday Wishes!

Friday, March 13, 2015

Lucky Day