Friday, July 31, 2015


Thursday, July 30, 2015

Coyote Ugly

The hens of Bon Bon Pond had a harrowing morning.  While putting out corn for the ducks and geese on the hill, I heard a ruckus coming from the railroad embankment and was horrified to see a coyote flush out a group of young turkeys and chase them down the tracks.  I still cannot believe the girls got away as the predator was within inches.  I raced up to the tracks and saw the coyote skedaddle so I know all survived. 

Once again, I talked to the girls and explained that very bad things happen when they leave the confines of Bon Bon Acres.  Hopefully, one day they will listen!

(please click on images to embiggen) 


Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Happy Hump Day

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Battlefield Reprt

Hats off to Bambi and Friends!  They got me!  Or rather, I should say, got my hostas.  Thanks to the heat, humidity and B42 bomber size mosquitoes, I missed this week's required repellant spray.   
Enjoy your sweet victory while it lasts, my friends.  There are two gallons of Deer Off in the garage so I shall return.  You may have won this week’s battle but the war wages on!

 (please click on image to embiggen)
hasta la vista hostas  :-( 

Monday, July 27, 2015

Thoughts fpr the Work Week Ahead

Sunday, July 26, 2015

Sunday Blessings

Saturday, July 25, 2015

Enjoy the Weekend

Friday, July 24, 2015


Thursday, July 23, 2015

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Happy Hump Day

(please click on images to embiggen)

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Breakfast Buddy

(please click on images to embiggen)

Monday, July 20, 2015

Thoughts for the Work Week Ahead

Sunday, July 19, 2015

California Dreamin'

(please click on images to embiggen)

Saturday, July 18, 2015

Weekend Wishes

Friday, July 17, 2015


Thursday, July 16, 2015

Warmest Wishes for a Wonderful Thursday

(please click on image to embiggen)

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Happy Anniversary Bon Bon Acres

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Thoughts for the Work Week Ahead

Monday, July 13, 2015

Get Well Jeff!

All of us at Bon Bon Pond are sending out get well wishes to our best buddy, Jeff, who is currently hospitalized with a heart-related ailment.   

We all miss you Jeff and want to see you back up on that tractor and behind the grill real soon!

Sunday, July 12, 2015

California Dreamin'

(please click on images to embiggen)

Saturday, July 11, 2015

Warmest Weekend Wishes

Friday, July 10, 2015

Product Review

One month into this summer’s experiment with Deer Stopper and I’m giving the product two enthusiastic green gardening thumbs up.  When you have well over 300 hostas, the process is both expensive and time-consuming but beautiful, lush, leafy plants are worth the extra effort.  An added bonus to this formula is its pleasant scent.  In the past I have used Liquid Fence, which also did a good job of keeping Bambi away from my flowers—but at a steeper price and with a horrendous odor that stunk up the place for days.  The worst was at night when the stench of Parmesan cheese flavored-urine (sorry, but that’s what it smells like!) would waft into the house sending me into fits of nausea. 

In fairness—and if memory servesan application of Liquid Fence did seem to last longer but in the first half of summer when rain is plentiful it’s a moot point as any product would wash off anyway.  The secret to success with both formulas is continued and regular application.  After Monday night’s gulley washer I sprayed everything, again, and will “rinse and repeat” depending on the weekend’s weather forecast.  Vigilance is key to keeping the wildlife at bay.

And lest anyone think I’m a meanie, I should add the deer have full access to ALL of the fruit trees—apple, pear, plum and cherry—here at Bon Bon Acres.  I take no fruit from my orchard so it can provide year-round sustenance for all the animals. Additionally, there is a full row of hostas close to the road that the deer are welcome to eat, in addition to their regular snacks of corn that I provide  In return, all I ask for is a munch-free zone around the house!  Trust me—it’s all spelled out in the Bon Bon Acres critter contract! 

(please click on image to embiggen)

Summer 2015 hosta garden